Historic Moment: Romania and Bulgaria Enter Schengen Area

Romania and Bulgaria have partially joined Europe’s Schengen travel zone, allowing ID-check-free travel by air and sea. However, land border checks will remain due to Austria’s opposition over migration concerns. The move is hailed as a ‘huge success’ by EU Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen. Schengen, established in 1985, now includes 25 EU countries, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein. Romania and Bulgaria aim for full Schengen accession by year-end.

Get NewsPepper Short News App from Play Store